SISTER RAY from Youngstown Ohio

Today Vampyre Verdi has mostly been listening to Sister Ray. For a couple of years in the late 80’s Sister Ray records were plentiful, cheap and reliably good. Great crunchy fuzzy guitars, fine tunes and some snotty lyrics delivered in an understated everyman manner (kinda like Keith Relf from The Yardbirds).

There ain’t much out there on ye olde internet, not even a wikipedia page, an old interview on the well worth a visit Noise for Heroes is as good as it gets.

Here’s a 32x track selection from the LP’s ‘Random Violence’, ‘No Way To Express’, ‘To Spite My Face’ ‘Too Mean To Live’ and a few cuts from singles.

Oh yeah, they strangely rarely sound like The Velvet Underground.

01 20th Century Boy
02 Third Rail
03 Miss America
04 Modern Mama
05 Survivors
06 This Way
07 Hey Hey Hey
08 I’ve Just Seen Your Face
09 Virgil Red
10 Purgatory
11 I Should Be Dead
12 Way To Go
13 Ten years After
14 Sick Of Skulls
15 Not 18
16 Psycho Sis
17 Stillborn
18 That’s What Friends Are For
19 No Escape
20 Man With A Gun
21 Take Up Thy Stethoscope And Walk
22 Die Young
23 Invasion of the Pussy Music
24 Someone I Used To Know
25 Faster Isn’t Always Better
26 A Day In The Life
27 Alone With My Thoughts
28 Hate
29 I Don’t Want Your Sex
30 Too Mean To Live
31 Do It Now
32 Yellow With Black Lace

GET THEM HERE

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “SISTER RAY from Youngstown Ohio

  1. Nate Myer

    Fantastic! I’ve been looking for MP3s by these guys for a while. And while I hate to look a gift horse in the mouth (believe me, I don’t–this is a tremendous post, and thank you from the bottom of my heart for doing it), I’m wondering if I could beg you to post the remainder of “Random Violence” if you have it. That’s the record I’ve been dying to hear since my vinyl went missing, and a number of my favorite cuts from it (“Release,” “This Girl,” etc) I can’t find on line to save my life. Thanks, in any event, and cheers! Well done.

    • Howdy, I’ve just checked and these were the only Random Violence tracks that I digitized, seem to remember my crappy copy skipped a lot making much of it unlistenable, pleased to know that there’s at least one other Sister Ray fan out there. Cheers VV

Leave a Reply

